Maserati (I know, wrong section) Questions | FerrariChat

Maserati (I know, wrong section) Questions

Discussion in '360/430' started by Jdubbya, Jul 13, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Jdubbya

Jdubbya The $10 Trillion Man
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 28, 2003
    PNW
    Full Name:
    John
    So I've been perusing this section since I bought my 2009 Grantruismo. Yes it's a Maserati and yes I know this is the Ferrari 360/430 section.

My new to me car is one of the only 300 in the US with the F1 gearbox. Supposedly it's the same gearbox as the 430 of the same era.

With so few Maseratis with this gearbox there really isn't much info out there. Almost no info to be honest, even on other more active Maserati boards.

So here are my couple questions for all the F1 experts here. Does anyone know is it really the same gearbox as in the 430 and will most or all of the technical info posted here apply to mine?

The car has about 53k miles on it and the previous owner replaced the clutch about 2 years ago so I don't expect to have many problems in the near future, but it would be nice to finally have a definitive answer to a few questions (and I've been seeing things like launch control, hill assist F1 modes?!?) and am wondering if they apply to my car as well.

I can say, with the throttle mashed and the RPM's up near redline, the shifts are insanely fast. Oh, the previous owner did install the Forumula Dynamics "enhancement module" that is supposed to have updated the trans to similar to the 599 "superfast" performance.

I am a DIY kind of guy so reading a lot of the threads here about the F1 trans has been very interesting to say the least.

Thanks and hope to keep learning more!
    John

2. tazandjan

tazandjan Three Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Jul 19, 2008
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    Full Name:
    Terry H Phillips