458 - Gurgling when turning...I’m stumped! | FerrariChat

458 Gurgling when turning...I’m stumped!

Discussion in '458 Italia/488/F8' started by LivingthedreamBAB, Oct 19, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. LivingthedreamBAB

Jan 2, 2020
    Full Name:
    BRIAN BUTT
    I’m stumped! I am a fairly good mechanic and can usually diagnose most things but this one baffles me. Symptoms are as follow:

-when driving slower (low exhaust note) and turning the wheel I hear a gurgling noise that sounds a slight but like something is rubbing but it’s really more of a gurgle
    -if stopped and turn wheel it doesn’t make noise. Only makes noise when moving
    -I’ve checked the car thoroughly for any possible places it is rubbing. There is no rubbing and it makes noise if the wheel is 1/8 turned or turned further while moving. No noise when moving straight
    -application of the brakes does not change the noise

My friend who is a race car mechanic is baffled too after spending an hour looking at it.

So here I am asking for help and hopeful that one of you may know what the issue is! As always, I appreciate your help!

Sent from my iPhone using FerrariChat.com mobile app

2. LivingthedreamBAB

Jan 2, 2020
    Full Name:
    BRIAN BUTT
  3. greyboxer

greyboxer F1 World Champ

Dec 8, 2004
    South East
    Full Name:
    Jimmie
    If this is on concrete at very low speed and your ambient temperatures have dropped could it be Ackerman effect from the front wheels ?

4. craigburton

craigburton Karting

Aug 27, 2016
    This is without doubt a drive shaft/cv issue. I had those exact symptoms and resolved the noise with a new driveshaft.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5. LivingthedreamBAB

Jan 2, 2020
    Full Name:
    BRIAN BUTT

I understand the Ackerman effect (Porsche has this really bad) which in this case is not the issue. Appreciate the input though!

6. FFan5