Best way to get into auto racing | FerrariChat

Best way to get into auto racing

Discussion in 'Other Racing' started by fcman, Jan 18, 2007.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. fcman

fcman Formula Junior

Aug 10, 2006
    Atlanta, GA
    Full Name:
    Michael
    I'm currently a college student, 20 yrs old, and I'm stuck doing something I can't stand. I've always been told to find something that you love to do and then get someone to pay you to do it. Over the years my interests and hobbies have changed more than Michael Jackson's nose. However, I have always loved auto racing.

The problem for me is I only have limited experience: autocross, which I'm fairly good at, and also "slow" carts (held 2 top ten times at local Andretti's Speed Lab before they changed the track, haven't been since) Also my aunt's boyfriend used to be a SEDiv Porsche Club instructor and has taught me pretty much all the basics and given me some track time. I know I can make it if I can just get a start, the problem is lack of funds and no racing background (father's a salesman, although my sister races motorbikes ;)) so I have pretty much no connections in the racing world (other than aunt's boyfriend, but he hasn't been able to help yet)

The main questions I have are:

1. Which form of motorsport is the easiest to get into?
    My interests in order are:
    a. Open wheel racing
    b. Rally
    c. Production/Touring car (ALMS)

2. What is the best way to get into that field as a professional?

Thanks a bunch,
    Michael

2. FERRARI-TECH

FERRARI-TECH Formula 3

Nov 9, 2006
    Los Angeles
    Full Name:
    Ferrari-tech

Have a really rich dad who spoils you rotten and buys you a go-kart when you are 6 and drives you all over te coutry to race, or even in the case of MS and RS builds you a go kart track at home.
    Good luck

3. fcman

fcman Formula Junior

Aug 10, 2006
    Atlanta, GA
    Full Name: