Wondering what insurance looks like... | FerrariChat

Wondering what insurance looks like...

Discussion in 'Ferrari Discussion (not model specific)' started by ybl84f1, Jul 14, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. ybl84f1

ybl84f1 Rookie

Jul 14, 2021
    Full Name:
    Steve Engelbrecht
    Hey all,

Straight off the bat - total newbie here! Hopefully I'm posting in the right section and hopefully someone can provide some input or guidance.

I am closing on my first Ferrari - a 2007 F430 Spider. Very excited - a lifelong dream! I'm about a week away so today I called my insurance company, Hagerty, that covers my '95 Corvette and they told me they don't cover first time Supercar buyers; they want you to have either prior Supercar experience or have owned it a year. When I asked about how a first-timer gets insurance they very politely told me I need to go somewhere else. (It doesn't matter if you're 59, married, kids, no debt, no traffic violations for 20 years, etc. - all of that being me). It reminds me of the young graduate that tries to get a loan and they tell him he needs credit, and when he asks how you get credit they tell him he needs to pay off loans.

Okay - so that's their business model, I get it. So my question is...what insurance company do you use or who would you recommend for me in this position? I'm of course starting to research alternatives but would appreciate the collective wisdom of this fine collection of Supercar owners.

My usage is minimal. I know there's every type of Ferrari driver here from daily commuters to race pros, but I plan to drive it minimally (<2k/yr), only on occasional weekends when the planets are totally aligned and there's a 5-day forecast of perfect weather, otherwise it's in climate-controlled storage.

Any guidance on insurance companies is greatly appreciated!

Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. DonB

DonB Formula Junior
    BANNED