What do I need to know before buying a sailing Catamaran ? | FerrariChat

What do I need to know before buying a sailing Catamaran ?

Discussion in 'Motorcycles & Boats' started by WILLIAM H, Feb 21, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. WILLIAM H

WILLIAM H Three Time F1 World Champ

Nov 1, 2003
    Victory Circle
    Full Name:
    HUBBSTER
    I'm a total noob at sailing but I'm interested.

Thinking maybe a 40ft Cat

Help please

2. wax

wax Five Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa

Jul 20, 2003
    SFPD
    Full Name:
    Dirty Harry
    A) How much you got?

B) Learn before you yearn.

C) Did you go to Miami Boat Show or sumpin'?

D) Cruisers Forum is an excellent resource.

E) "Don't be 'that guy'" Video comin' up . . .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. WILLIAM H

Nov 1, 2003
    Victory Circle
    Full Name:
    HUBBSTER
    Got plenty :)

Thinking maybe $300k budget

Would like something big enough to live on a few weeks

So I need a kitchen, pantry, 2 full baths, solar cells, generator, fishing capability, water desalinator would be nice too

4. LightGuy

LightGuy Three Time F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Oct 4, 2004
    Texas
    Full Name:
    David
    You can get something nice used for that much.
    Before you buy think "resale".
    The generic brands will have more appeal but when I retire I want something for me so brand wont be that important.
    World cruisers will be slower than daysailers but still faster and more stable than a monohull.
    Cats are a great choice.
    Get an owners version.

I would love to have this boat;

Catamaran 1993 Freebird 50 Catamaran For Sale

5. wax

Lifetime Rossa

Jul 20, 2003
    SFPD
    Full Name:
    Dirty Harry
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XF2Q4W7v2d4]Cap'n Batboat - YouTube[/ame]

6. FarmerDave

FarmerDave F1 World Champ
    Consultant

Jul 26, 2004
    Full Name:
    IgnoranteWest