Wanted: 308 euro cam or something - 1978 2V | FerrariChat

Wanted: 308 euro cam or something - 1978 2V

Discussion in '308/328' started by Dancia, Jan 8, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Dancia

Dancia Rookie

May 15, 2015
    HI All,

Does anyone have any Euro cams or something suitable for better street performance?

I'm degreeing my Stock cams and feeling like now is the time to change.

I can't post in the classifieds. I assume because I am a rookie.

Thanks in advance

2. BigTex

BigTex Seven Time F1 World Champ
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Dec 6, 2002
    Houston, Texas
    Full Name:
    Bubba
    Hello and welcome...

You are correct, but the cams you have can be reprofiled without finding the older ones.
    With the addition of catalysts the North Amercan cams were softer.

I wish I could help with a vendor but basically they will modify your cams to the 1975 thru 1977 profile.
    The early cams were the same between the markets with only minor differences in actual cam timing.
    Four degrees on the exhaust side, from hazy memory..

3. BigTex

BigTex Seven Time F1 World Champ
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Dec 6, 2002
    Houston, Texas
    Full Name:
    Bubba
    In addition to the actual peak lobe height the overall cam lobe shape can be improved from standards when our cars were newn

4. derekw

derekw Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Sep 7, 2010
    London, UK
    Full Name:
    Derek W
    Contact RAF at CAT cams in Belgium. They have a few profiles and it’s cheaper going direct (many vendors sell their cams.) about $1500 for a set.

5. 4right

4right F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed

This is a great upgrade for a 78 and later 308. You will notice a significant/noticeable increase in power. Good luck with the search. I thought that Superformance in the UK carries performance cams for the 308. You may want to check them out.

6. derekw

derekw Formula 3