The Official Car Simulator Thread | FerrariChat

The Official Car Simulator Thread

Discussion in 'Tracking & Driver Education' started by SoCal to az, Jan 22, 2021.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. SoCal to az

SoCal to az F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 25, 2012
    Arizona
    This is such a rapidly changing field that I thought with all the reading Ive been doing, there wasn't a place to consolidate information. Id like to use this thread to document some of my findings and Im hopping others can do the same so that as more and more people get into this, there is somewhere they an go for information. Im by no means an expert- in fact totally illiterate on the subject- however collectively we should be able to put together a pretty good resource. Hoping others will chime in.

From what Ive seen, there are a couple of different categories. DYI and Prebuilt. Ill tackle the prebuilt stuff first. With prebuilt, you have to decide if you want motion or no motion. Adding motion gives you a more immersive feel but its more expensive, more stuff to break down potentially but it is absolutely more realistic.

Motion Simulators
    Here are some of the motion companies that Ive run across. For the most part these companies build their own chasis and use off the shelf components for the build.

https://www.simcraft.com - Located in Georgia. Prices range from 30k to 130k with most of the difference in pricing coming from how much motion do you want?

https://www.cxcsimulations.com - Located in California. prices range from 57k to 120k. Lots of configurable options

https://www.force-dynamics.com - If you want motion- this looks like the mother of all motion simulators. Very robust. Pricing ranging from $50k to 120k. Again just depends on hw much motion you want/need