standard wheel / LED carbon wheel | FerrariChat

standard wheel / LED carbon wheel

Discussion in 'California/Portofino/Roma' started by HDN, Apr 7, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. HDN

HDN Rookie

Apr 7, 2018
    Full Name:
    Herman N
    Hello,

I am just new on Ferrari Chat. I have read a lot of helpful advices.
    I have a California 2011 and want to change my standard wheel to a Led wheel.
    I do not want to spend € 7000 on a carbon wheel..
    is there any one who did the job DIY ?
    do you have to reprogram the ECU ?
    Are the connectors and wires already installed in the wheel under the airbag ?

Herman

2. mobinakhtar

mobinakhtar Karting

Jan 28, 2015
    I studied the same exact thing before buying and found out its pretty involved. You can buy the wheel used for around $5000 on ebay. An indy can install it for you but the lights will not work until dealer programs the car with LED steering code. They charge one-hour labor here in Houston to do that.

I figured the steering was my MUST requirement so I kept shopping until I found my car. As a bonus, my particular car also has CF door inserts, CF gearshift pedals, and Full CF center tunnel.

Its doable but it will cost too much in time. Money is pretty much same as if you were to buy a new one vs retrofitting.

Is it worth it? Hell yeah!

3. HDN

HDN Rookie

Apr 7, 2018
    Full Name:
    Herman N

4. HDN

HDN Rookie

Apr 7, 2018
    Full Name:
    Herman N
    Mobinakthar,

Thank you for your answer.

I also found out the proxy must be changed at the Ferrari dealer, but that is no problem, my dealer will do this for me.
    The biggest problem is, if the NVO in my standard wheel already has the drivers for the LEDS.Otherwise I have to look for another NVO.
    Next week I will go to my F. dealer to see if the NVO in my standard wheel has the electronics for the LEDS.