Spoiled Kids Cars | FerrariChat

Spoiled Kids Cars

Discussion in 'General Automotive Discussion' started by mrcarlosspicey, Nov 11, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. mrcarlosspicey

mrcarlosspicey Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

May 18, 2012
    Omaha
    Full Name:
    Parker
    Just wondering what kind of ridiculously expensive cars you see at high schools these days.

I'm a freshman and at my high school we have:

CTS-V coupe (senior)

3 Raptors (soft more and 2 seniors)

E39 M5 (softmore)

I wonder what the thought process is of the people who purchased the cars for them...

2. jm2

jm2 F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa Owner

Aug 19, 2002
    michigan
    Full Name:
    john
    IMHO giving a CTS V to a High schooler is like giving a loaded weapon to a minor........too much car....not enough experience I'm guessing..with 556 HP on tap it's very easy to get into trouble very quickly

3. tomc

tomc Two Time F1 World Champ

Apr 13, 2014
    DFW, Texas
    Full Name:
    Tom C
    Hi Parker…You got some big money in Omaha! Maybe Warren Buffett is buying high end cars for kids in the Omaha area?!? Seriously though, I drive past our local high school quite regularly, here in Dallas area, and see only cars appropriate (IMO) for teenagers: beaters. Our area of Dallas is, however, not the swankiest, so I suspect it'll be diff in more affluent parts of our city.

I suspect the thought process goes like this - parents generally like to give their kids things they want. Kids want cars when they get into HS. Parents give cars commensurate to what they can afford.

So, more importantly, what kind of car do you drive? What's the future car you have your eye on?…T

4. Tcar

Tcar F1 Rookie

Parker,
    Homework... First thought you were trying to be funny, but in case not: learn how to spell and pronounce SOPHMORE before you are one.

5. TheDuke

TheDuke Formula 3