Please, Someone Tell Me, What Is The Purpose Of Drifting? | FerrariChat

Please, Someone Tell Me, What Is The Purpose Of Drifting?

Discussion in 'Other Racing' started by RP, Apr 6, 2007.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. RP

RP F1 World Champ

Feb 9, 2005
    Bocahuahua, Florxico
    Full Name:
    Tone Def
    Don't wish to be old fashioned and stodgy, but can anyone tell me the purpose of drifting? Other than a way to use up tires.

2. maxorido

maxorido Formula 3

Jul 6, 2006
    Full Name:
    Jim
    Well for one thing, it's very fun to do. Secondly, when organized in a competition it's a display of great car control, and a bit of an art. I'm not really into watching those sort of competitions, but ever since I started practicing handbrake turns around corners, I realized it was great fun.

3. LongJohnSilver

LongJohnSilver Formula Junior

Apr 15, 2006
    Gainesville FL
    Full Name:
    Scott
    Let me start off by saying that I don't follow it, but I have seen a few events on TV and read a little about it. I have taught myself to not compare it to racing. It isn't really anything like it. It is just a pure demonstration of car control. In some forms, one car will "fight" with another car. One car leads, setting the pace while trying to get the most style points as possible. The other car tries to stick his car right on the others side, pressuring him and matching or beating his style points. They then switch places. Whoever does the best as determined by the judges over the two runs wins. They move on in a bracket style event.

I think a good analogy is speed skating to figure skating. Both use some of the same skills but in different ways. Speed skating is all about speed whereas figure skating is all about style.

Basically, its purpose is entertainment, just as racing is. It just entertains different people in a different way.

4. Remy Zero