Motorcycle N00B - help please! | FerrariChat

Motorcycle N00B - help please!

Discussion in 'Motorcycles & Boats' started by Doody, Jul 26, 2005.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Doody

Doody F1 Veteran

Nov 16, 2001
    MA USA
    Full Name:
    Mr. Doody
    hey guys - i'm looking for sage advice from those with more gray hairs than i ("and that's a lot because i got my share!") on the topic of motorcycles.

i'm a complete newbie. i've ridden on the backs of a few motorcycles. i've driven mopeds. i've never driven a motorcycle.

i've found a few resources online. i've learned that i probably shouldn't start out with a ZX-12R :).

i'm leaning towards low-maintenance sportbike. no ducatis in this boy's immediate future - maybe someday if i really get the bug. i have a yamaha and a buell dealer in the next town over. not sure i care to buy used - i certainly don't have the knowledge to evaluate used bikes - nor the time, really. happy to pay the depreciation premium for the first bike (just like i did with my first ferrari purchase).

so if anybody has suggestions, comments, advice, pointers, or anything at all, i'm 100% all ears.

not sure i need another addiction, but it's STILL cheaper than heroin....

grazie,
    doody.

2. UroTrash

UroTrash Three Time F1 World Champ
    Consultant Owner

Jan 20, 2004
    Purgatory
    Full Name:
    Clifford Gunboat
    SV650.

Good for the beginner, good for the 20 year vet.

EDIT: Get regular not "S". More comfy, more useable blah blah blah.

3. ralfabco

ralfabco Two Time F1 World Champ
    Lifetime Rossa

Mar 1, 2002
    Dixie
    Full Name:
    Itamar Ben-Gvir
    No ZX-12R ? What about a Hayabusa ? - I am a bad example. I started with a new ZX-7, as my very first bike.

Whart started on bikes when he became "older." He may be a good source for advice.