Manuals live | FerrariChat

Manuals live

Discussion in 'General Automotive Discussion' started by boxerman, Jul 31, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. boxerman

boxerman F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

May 27, 2004
    FL
    Full Name:
    Sean
    We have had lots of debate here on the subject.
    Heres a good piece of data from BMW.

"In terms of product, one particular model sees a surprising number of buyers opt for a stick shift, ensuring the manual’s availability for at least the near future.

“The BMW M2 Competition still has the manual for a reason, because in the U.S. we have more than a 50 percent take rate on manual transmissions for the M2,” the M chief said. “Buyers vote with their wallets for manual transmissions. Now, being an engineer, I would say from a rational standpoint that even though the manual gearbox is lighter than an automated gearbox, it uses more fuel and is slower, so it doesn’t really make sense . . . But from the emotional standpoint, a lot of customers say, ‘I don’t care, I want to have one.’”

Additionaly we read GT3 manual takeup rate was over 50%, and we know about the cayman GT4.

maybe manuals are dying in crapboxes, but in the sportscar and sportscar field there is real demand esp in USA. I gues people like actual engagement and enterainment in their sprotscars still, or at least a subgroup do. Not at ferrari apprently, not sure that thats says about ferrari buyers.

Gotta hand it to porche though. at the house of P you can still buy a highly strung NA motor and manual. Turns out theyre oversubscribed.

2. INTMD8

INTMD8 F1 Veteran
    Owner

Jun 10, 2007
    Lake Villa IL
    Good post and agreed on all. So much for the "no one buys them" theory.

3. TheMayor

TheMayor Nine Time F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Feb 11, 2008
    Vegas baby
    #3 TheMayor, Aug 4, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018