Leasing yachts ? | FerrariChat

Leasing yachts ?

Discussion in 'Motorcycles & Boats' started by WILLIAM H, Jul 4, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. WILLIAM H

WILLIAM H Three Time F1 World Champ

Nov 1, 2003
    Victory Circle
    Full Name:
    HUBBSTER
    #1 WILLIAM H, Jul 4, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    I'm totally new to this. Just thinking about it. I love the Pershing like this beauty I saw in person that really got me thinking.

She's like 89 foot.

If you own one can you make any $ leasing it or at least for covering maintenance and docking
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. stever

stever F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Apr 18, 2006
    West. Wisconsin
    Full Name:
    Steve R
    I found the book 'Grand Ambition' illustrative of the thinking of those who buy/build/measure dxxx size with big boats. Not my world, however.

3. BoulderFCar

BoulderFCar F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 16, 2004
    Asheville, NC/Ft Lauderdale
    Full Name:
    Tom
    #3 BoulderFCar, Jul 4, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2017
    You can put the boat into and LLC and charter it. Many if not most big boats are available for charter. My personal opinion is that it's a huge pain in the ass and not worth it. You have to have more crew, pay management fees and the guests don't treat the boat like an owner does. You go to get on your boat and the carpets have had to be replaced due to excessive partying and so on. Part of having a nice boat is that it's a nice boat and very pristine. You can keep charters very clean and most operators do but it's costly. Go hang out with some crew in one of the marina bars and they can give you lots of "real" information on it.