F355 spider roof questions | FerrariChat

F355 spider roof questions

Discussion in '348/355' started by Jonkheer, Nov 14, 2012.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Jonkheer

Jonkheer Formula 3
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Aug 29, 2010
    The Netherlands
    Full Name:
    Christiaan
    Hello all,

I am considering of buying a F355 spider.
    But a little worry about the roof.

How reliable is the roof.
    I have read some stories that it can be a real pain.
    Also can be very expensive to repair.

Also read that it can operate more smoot after a hydraulic oil is changed.
    Is it a lot of work and can you do it your self.

I am not a mechanic but I am a little handy.

What do I check before buying?

Thanks.

2. plugzit

plugzit F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Dec 1, 2004
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Full Name:
    Bruce Bogart
    Does it work with the switch?
    Most roof mechanism repairs are fairly straightforward and inexpensive, as we have developed workarounds for most faults.
    If it does not work from the regular switch, does it work from the emergency switch?
    If not, probably seat potentiometers. Search threads on those and you'll find out how to fix them.
    You'll love the car!

3. tamf328

tamf328 Formula Junior

Mar 9, 2005
    the top on my 355 spider has only had one problem and that was with the seat potentiometer other than that it has worked without any problems.
    I fixed the seat pot thing myself, and I'm not a mechanic.....

4. Jonkheer

Jonkheer Formula 3
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Aug 29, 2010
    The Netherlands
    Full Name:
    Christiaan
    Thanx for your reply's.

So I do not have to worry to much for expensive repairs off the roof?

The hydraulic "never" fail.
    Heart that the hydraulic cylinders are the most expensive to replace, or recondition.

How water tide is de roof up?
    Do I look for places where it can/is leak(ing)?