Dead battery recommendations | FerrariChat

Dead battery recommendations

Discussion in '612/599' started by KY _Soldier, Jul 1, 2019.

Tags:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. KY _Soldier

KY _Soldier Formula Junior

Oct 13, 2008
    Louisville KY
    Full Name:
    Eric Rahman
    Hey all, I have been having battery issues since last year. Battery is likely at least 5 years old and due to be replaced. Even after charging it on the tender overnight, it will start a few times and then die as I don't think it's taking a charge from the alternator. I am in Louisville, KY. Does anyone have a recommendation of who can replace it? I think an interstate MT-93 is the way to go??? Do you think I absolutely need a dealer to swap it or is there a good local place?

2. 599_GTO

599_GTO Karting

Mar 7, 2018
    Full Name:
    J.S.
    Eric, you can manage this yourself. I am an absolute novice and managed to change the battery and it was very satisfying. Please look back at threads I have been on and you will see a fellow F-Chat member gave step by step instructions. It sounds like you need a new battery now.

3. George Vosburgh

George Vosburgh F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Eric, I agree with J.S. you can do this. The Interstate MT 93 is the way to go in my opinion. Make sure you turn the power switch off next to the battery, I use an Alan wrench, push in and turn counter clock wise. On the top of the battery there are two little arrows which releases the cover. Change the battery and turn the power back on and give the car 5 minutes to reset itself. Good Luck!

4. Skidkid

Skidkid F1 Veteran
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Aug 25, 2005
    Campbell, CA
    Full Name:
    John Zornes
    If it starts but doesn’t take a charge it is likely your charging system. The battery may be bad too but you need to look at the charging system.

Sent from my iPad using FerrariChat

5. KY _Soldier

Oct 13, 2008