Cayman vs 911 | FerrariChat

Cayman vs 911

Discussion in 'Porsche' started by BillyD, Apr 27, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. BillyD

BillyD Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Feb 28, 2004
    Pacific Northwest
    Full Name:
    Bill
    Guys, I'm tempted to do a Porsche next but I am a newbie to them. Haven't driven or been in one since a 911 in 1975.
    Thinking of 2009 or newer with PDK. Cayman seems small, is it really the same as a 911 from the door forward?
    Cayman or 911? What should I look for as far as options and model? I don't think I want the complexity of a 4S unless they're bulletproof. Never going to be tracked, just a touring car if comfortable enough for old bones.
    What should I expect in maintenance $$$ compared to F cars?
    Budget around $50K
    thanks
    Bill

2. tomc

tomc Two Time F1 World Champ

Apr 13, 2014
    DFW, Texas
    Full Name:
    Tom C
    Both are great cars. Have lots of friends in PCA that own Caymans, and universally they seem to love them. I have owned a '11 997.2 S for six years, and about 50 K miles, and it's still a blast to drive. Great handling, precise steering and an iconic sports car. I prefer the older pre-991 generations, because I prefer a less cluttered interior and less tech for what is a weekend fun car.

Since you mentioned touring, the most surprising aspect in our ownership has been how comfortable it is for road trips. We've probably taken ours on a half dozen trips of 1000+ miles. The fake back seats are great for a little extra luggage. With PDK, and cruise control, it can effortlessly chew up highway miles. If you want to get off the main roads and thrash it a little, use the paddles and throw it in Sport or Sport+!

Maintenance costs have been commensurate with our Cali, maybe $5 - $6 K all in as a wild guess, all in, gas, insurance, maintenance and repair.