buying used car from private seller in MICH | FerrariChat

buying used car from private seller in MICH

Discussion in 'North Central - USA (MI, IN, OH, KY, WV)' started by Webby, Oct 22, 2009.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Webby

Webby F1 Veteran

Sep 12, 2004
    I won't say what it is, don't want to jinx anything :) But it's nothing special.
    I am a resident of Ohio, but I go to college in Indiana, and the seller is in Michigan.
    I'm paying cash for the full value of the car.

What exactly do you have to do when buying a used car from a private seller?
    How do I transfer the title officially?
    When do I have to pay the tax for it?
    How long do I have before I have to get insurance?
    Do I keep the license plate the previous owner had? When do I get a new one?
    Is there anything else I have to do with the seller or at the DMV?

Thanks in advance! Thought I'd ask here in case it differs from state to state

2. alum04org

alum04org F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Apr 23, 2009
    Plymouth, MI
    What exactly do you have to do when buying a used car from a private seller? A: Protect yourself! Be certain the MI title is held free and clear (no liens). Compare the info on the title to the seller (same name? Ask to view their driver license and record their MI driver license number). VIN on title match VIN on vehicle's instrument panel and driver door opening? Clear MI titles (recently issued) are green, have a serrated edge at top of document, a purple colored control number on the lower right corner (i.e. G58996703), and a bar code below the control number. Older titles may differ.