Art for the bachelor pad... | FerrariChat

Art for the bachelor pad...

Discussion in 'Creative Arts' started by HobbsTC, Aug 21, 2013.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. HobbsTC

HobbsTC Formula 3
    Silver Subscribed

Jun 14, 2004
    Lakeland, FL
    Full Name:
    Thomas
    Hi guys. I'm newly a bachelor again, for better or worse. I know a lot of this will sound very naive, but I have moved into a new place and am looking to open my eyes and home to the art world. First, where's a good place online to start to learn about the trade? Second, I know he is controversial, but I like some of the pop art of Roy Lichtenstein and was thinking some of it might fit well in a bachelor pad. Any thoughts as to who and what I should be looking at? I'm not looking solely for investment, I am also looking for enjoyment and home enhancement. If it matters, I'm a younger professional at 33 and like bold, interesting items.

I know this probably sounds like a dumb first post in here, but I wasn't sure where else to turn. Thanks!

2. JeremyJon

JeremyJon F1 Veteran

Jul 28, 2010
    Calgary, Canada
    I say just go to some galleries, and look, don't buy, and just see what ones fit your like and taste, so you first discover what styles and type of artwork is your preference first!
    Lots of people buy what they think 'others' will be impressed by, but to me it's your home, buy what you enjoy and will continue to like in future IMO

3. hinton308

hinton308 Formula Junior

Jul 13, 2009
    Gaffney, SC
    Full Name:
    Don Hinton
    Look at artbrokerage.com. I have bought several pieces from them. I like Roy. Also look at Peter Max
    Don

4. Mang

Mang F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Jul 11, 2007
    ta HO
    Full Name:
    Mike S.
    Thomas, sent you a pm

5. LightGuy

LightGuy Three Time F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Oct 4, 2004
    Texas
    Full Name:
    David