Anyone attend a "Crossfit" gym? | FerrariChat

Anyone attend a "Crossfit" gym?

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by BubblesQuah, Feb 10, 2013.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. BubblesQuah

BubblesQuah F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 1, 2003
    Charlotte
    I see it has been about 3 years since there was a thread on this, I figure that's enough time passed to start a new one.

There is one about 3 blocks away from me - does anyone here attend one?

I'm a beginner - but for some reason this actually appeals to me - something different, seems far more interesting than going to a typical gym.

I'm going to check into the intro classes. I guess my main concern is my ability to stay motivated or get motivated, especially at the beginning - at least long enough to see some benefits and growth in ability to make me want to keep going.

Is this too hard core or is this exactly what I'm looking for?

2. Edward 96GTS

Edward 96GTS F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 1, 2003
    they look intimidating in that they dont seem to start out with light weight exercises. looks like its very strenuous from the get go. makes me think that an injury is inevitable.
    ed

3. muk_yan_jong

muk_yan_jong Formula Junior

Oct 11, 2008
    Full Name:
    Brian McK
    #3 muk_yan_jong, Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    I crossfit and I love it. Haven't injured myself yet and don't foresee anything unless I go out of my way to do something stupid.

The way the classes are structured and the method of warming up to the day's workout (WOD) minimizes injuries. The instructors (most times the space owners) are trained to be highly attentive to form and they do not hesitate to tell you to stop and lighten up any weight. Classes are small and you never feel lost.