Any Honda dirt bike experts here? | FerrariChat

Any Honda dirt bike experts here?

Discussion in 'Motorcycles & Boats' started by Subarubrat, Oct 17, 2016.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Subarubrat

Subarubrat Formula 3

Apr 1, 2009
    VA
    Full Name:
    Scott
    I just bought a 1984 XR350R for very specific reasons, and yes it had to be this bike. I have owned several bikes, a supercharged Buell X1, Harley Heritage Springer, and others. I have restored many cars and airplanes and the big picture of a vehicle restoration is pretty clear but I am hoping to pick up some tips and tricks here on Fchat.

My reason why is this; I am a pilot and have my planes at a historical grass strip airport and most of the guys there have a variety of go karts, scooters, mini bikes, etc to get around the airport and for general shenannigans. In the movie Iron Eagle the main character Doug Masters races a Cessna against a local jerk who rides a Honda XR350R. So naturally if I am going to have an airport bike it has to be that bike. And of course after two years of looking almost all of them are part out jobs on ebay or wrecks. I finally managed to find a good one with all the bits there, super compression and no obvious problems other than being a 30 year old bike.

I tore it down and have sent the frame, handle bar, kick stand, exhaust, swing arm, and other bits off to the powder coater that does great color matching.

This is my starting set of questions, I am hoping Fchat has it's usual supply of experts on all things to comment.

I ordered an OEM upper and lower end seal kit for the engine, the head and valve gasket kits are not the same as what I pulled out of an obviously unopened engine. The originals for the valve cover and cyl head were metal, the OEM kits have non metal ones. What is the best path, reuse the original metal ones or use the OEM kit?