Dino Saga 051204 | FerrariChat

Dino Saga 051204

Discussion in 'Corbani's Corner' started by John Corbani, Dec 4, 2005.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. John Corbani

John Corbani Formula 3
    Honorary Owner

May 5, 2005
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Full Name:
    John Corbani
    #1 John Corbani, Dec 4, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Dino Saga 051204

More of what we found, so far!

My background is in electronics, physics, modeling. I have always been able to take things apart and usually put them back together better than I found them. Someone quoted Phil Hill to the effect that you should drive a car as though you could fix it. That has been my philosophy since about age 10 and has been the philosophy of most of the people that I have associated with for the succeeding 60+ years. I assumed that a mechanic who had worked on exotics for a few years had the skill to actually put it back together better than he found it. And that he understood that the book is only a reminder for someone who really does not need a book except for the most exacting details. In other words, I expect a mechanic to reverse engineer the car as he works on it. After all, the engineers who design these things had a reason for everything and the mechanics role is to verify the reason or to improve on the design. Deciding that a part is not necessary or that a tolerance is too tight, or that a procedure is too time consuming, without willing to run the experiment, is a sure road to disaster. And above all, you have to spend the time, thinking of nothing but the specific job at hand. No cell phone!

We found parts substituted, procedures not followed, broken bolts and time probably taken in dribs and drabs. Above all, carelessness.