Dino Saga 050807 | FerrariChat

Dino Saga 050807

Discussion in 'Corbani's Corner' started by John Corbani, Aug 7, 2005.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. John Corbani

John Corbani Formula 3
    Honorary Owner

May 5, 2005
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Full Name:
    John Corbani
    #1 John Corbani, Aug 7, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Dino Saga 050807

It does rain in Santa Barbara, Dec. thru Mar., on occasion. The car had a broken windshield when it first came to Santa Barbara. The dealer replaced it and did not get a great fit in the corners. The first rain leaked in and left stains on the suede covering the dash. I had seen other Dinos at various concours and had never seen such nice suede as on mine. All others had suede coated with some kind of dye, polish, soap, paint, etc. I have some experience with suede and just mixed up an ounce of Murphy’s Oil Soap and a quart of soft water. I rubbed lightly with a damp sponge, rinsing the sponge as soon as it showed signs of dirt. You want to wet the suede but not enough to drip. And you have to wash every inch, every time. Spotting a small area leaves a bigger spot. I left the car windows open overnight and the suede looked like new. Still does. Stitching has held up also. Only problem is a little loss of Murphy’s oil when you leave car in full sun for a week or so. You get a little sheen on the inside of the windshield. Wipes right off with a terry cloth. Small price to pay for a good looking flat black dash. I redo a couple of times per year.

I lifted outside of windshield gasket and ran a small bead of black silicone all around. Got all the way to the edge of the glass and the steel. Wiped off excess right away. That took care of windshield leaks.