348 Crank Sensors | FerrariChat

348 Crank Sensors

Discussion in '348/355' started by 3forty8, Jan 17, 2009.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. 3forty8

3forty8 F1 Rookie
    Owner

Apr 25, 2006
    San Diego
    Full Name:
    Eric
    #1 3forty8, Jan 17, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    No Doubt's 348 reference lists a KIA crank sensor as interchangeable with our Bosch units. The last time I changed my oil, I checked my sensors and although still functional cracks were starting to form on the connector plugs. I don't recall anyone posting up if they had tried it, so here it is.

The KIA part number is OK2A6 18891. They cost around $30 + tax from the dealer, and around $20 online. The Ferrari (or Volvo cross reference) for the Bosch unit is about $280/each. I've been running them for a couple of months without issue, and other than the wire loom to the sensor being about 4mm longer in length on the KIA units dimensions are identical. So save yourself $500 bucks next time you need to replace them.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. troy_wood

troy_wood Formula 3

Apr 28, 2007
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Full Name:
    Troy Wood
    #2 troy_wood, Jan 17, 2009
    This is great info Eric. I am just finishing up my major and have been wondering what to do about the hairline crack in one of mine. Question - where the wire lengths are different do you think I should replace both(even though one of mine is still good)? Could un-equal wire lengths pose any problems?

Also, my Hall phase sensor (camshaft sensor) plug is toast as well - any alternate parts availible for this that you know of...?

Thanks for this info...

3. 3forty8

3forty8 F1 Rookie
    Owner

Apr 25, 2006
    San Diego
    Full Name:
    Eric