1988 412 Service/Workshop Manual request | FerrariChat

1988 412 Service/Workshop Manual request

Discussion in '365 GT4 2+2/400/412' started by Krician, May 6, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Krician

Krician Rookie

May 6, 2014
    Hello, I am a mechanic in training. So far I helped rebuild three Maserati Biturbo's, a Alfa Romeo GTV 6, a Alfa Romeo Spider and now I was assigned to help on a 1988 Ferrari 412. My boss (shop owner) has hundreds of workshop manuals for Alfa's, Porsche's, Audi's, MB's, and many more. Sadly he does not have a workshop manual for a 412. I've looked through the web before posting here and I see that there was no manual for the 412 and to use the 400i manual? What is the difference? I know the problem with the 412 is that we (a co worker and I) cannot remove one of the cylinder heads (the owner overheated the engine) so the studs basically welded themselves to the head. It's been in our shop for 3 months now and we need to get it done. My boss assigned me to look for the Service manual (preferably in PDF format) so we can get all specifications on the motor. Thanks.

2. theobordeaux

theobordeaux Formula Junior

Jan 13, 2011
    Bordeaux (France)
    Full Name:
    Theodore
  3. simonc

simonc Formula Junior

Nov 1, 2003
    Herfordshire, UK
    Full Name:
    Simon Campbell
    You will need to make a head puller to get the head off - they are renowned for being difficult. To get a general idea of how to do this take a look at http://www.tomyang.net/cars/headpuller.htm. This is for a different Ferrari engine type but you will get the idea. Perhaps if you put a little more detail in your profile, such as your location, someone here might have something they could lend you.

You will also need plenty of penetrating oil and lots of patience.

4. Rifledriver

Rifledriver Three Time F1 World Champ

Apr 29, 2004
    Austin TX
    Full Name:
    Brian Crall