430 - MT gearbox oil recommendations | Page 2 | FerrariChat

430 MT gearbox oil recommendations

Discussion in '360/430' started by tomdeg, Dec 16, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Flea7

Flea7 Formula 3
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Feb 25, 2010
    PNW
    Full Name:
    SKIM
    TT,
    I'm not an oil expert. I try to follow the advice of experts with experience with our cars. From what I took in some of the threads, there is one in particular that Need4speed mentioned, Brian seem to hint that the 75w-90NS was what he uses. I could be wrong....maybe he will chime in. I wouldn't mind using a lighter oil like the MTL but how is on gears? What do you focus on gears or synchros? That is the pressing question. Is MTL bad on gears over time? If so, what's more expensive to replace....gears or synchros? Does GL5 wear out the brass in the synchros ...does GL4 teardown the gears???

2. Need4Spd

Need4Spd F1 Veteran

Feb 24, 2007
    Silicon Valley
    Synchros. The gears at risk when using GL4 are the hypoid differential gears, which of course are quite large (and very expensive to replace, if you can even find parts), so unlikely he’d have a box full of them. This is why I had Blackstone do a transmission oil analysis. But if you use GL4, you proceed at your own risk. Synchros are cheaper to replace.

Sent from my iPad using FerrariChat

3. Flea7

Flea7 Formula 3
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Feb 25, 2010
    PNW
    Full Name:
    SKIM
    Brain has recommended MTL in 308/328 but would not recommend it in our f430s and others with hyp. gears. Its in a thread somewhere. I'll try to find it.

4. Flea7

Flea7 Formula 3
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Feb 25, 2010
    PNW
    Full Name:
    SKIM
    Here it is. He is talking about RL MTL. This isn't the thread that NEED4speed is referring to though.