348 - Bit of an intro to the forum | FerrariChat

348 Bit of an intro to the forum

Discussion in '348/355' started by KevZep, Mar 20, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. KevZep

KevZep Formula Junior

Feb 17, 2020
    New Zealand
    Full Name:
    Kevin Bennett
    Hi guys,
    I joined up a few weeks ago after I bought my 1992-3 348TB, I have been dreaming of Ferrari's since I was about 8 years old, and a month ago it all turned into a reality when the right car for the right money presented itself.
    I always thought I'd end up with a 308 as they tend to be the most accessible and practical Ferrari's to own, I dreamed of a 365 GT4/BB which there is a story. A friend of my parents owned this beautiful example, one Sunday morning when I was 18, back in 1984, he took me for a drive, and it was everything I dreamed it would be, ever since then I was addicted.
    The noise, speed, braking, the look....the smell!! Thats a very young me in the drivers seat (RHD) Damn I still just love the lines of these Boxers, they are a damn fine looking specimen.
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

Anyway, the reality of a cackling, growling, screaming 365 Boxer was slipping further and further away from me as time marched on, and the prices went up!!

Fast forward to 1989, and I remember waiting with baited breath for the release of the new 348, well, when I saw one, I just loved it, a fine balance between classic and modern(for the time) lines of which Pininfarina was so good at...and they configured it like a F1 car, longitudinal engine with the gearbox and suspension behind in its own sub frame, I was/am very attracted to this layout......