365/400/412 - how many survived? | FerrariChat

365/400/412 - how many survived?

Discussion in '365 GT4 2+2/400/412' started by Mantabee, Apr 29, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Mantabee

Mantabee Rookie

Apr 29, 2008
    Switzerland
    Full Name:
    Stefan
    Dear Ferraristi,

I am from Germany, living in Switzerland and I am completely new to the Ferrari world and very glad that I found this forum. In a strange move motivated by the emotions these cars can bring out, I just bought a '79 400A (carbs and automatic) at an auction in Switzerland. I will pick up the car on Thursday and surely will have many questions to the forum once I have the car. I gathered a lot of general info here already such as production numbers of the different models, but one upfront question I could not find on the forum yet: does anyone have an idea how many of these cars are still "alive"? Are there any estimates? In the Porsche (pre '74) world the assumption is that more or less 3/4 of all cars produced are still on the road (or in museums or so). Is it the same with Ferraris?

Thanks and "see" you soon again.

Stefan

2. Jeff Kennedy

Jeff Kennedy F1 Veteran
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Oct 16, 2007
    Edwardsville, IL
    Full Name:
    Jeff Kennedy
    Mantabee,

Across all Ferraris the percentage should be very high. With the 365/400/412 it will be less. On another thread in the 365/400/412 thread there is a post from Tom S about parting our several 365s. With the 250 Pf coupes the question will be how many have stayed as Pf coupes versus being modified into replicas of other "more desirable" Ferrari models.

Dave, what do your records show for 365/400/412?

Jeff

3. aidanparte

aidanparte Formula 3

Jul 18, 2004
    Stefan

Welcome to 400 ownership and to Fchat!