need help with adding fluids to 400i | FerrariChat

need help with adding fluids to 400i

Discussion in '365 GT4 2+2/400/412' started by koisokok, Jan 20, 2007.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. koisokok

koisokok F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Dec 8, 2006
    nine 0 two one 0
    what kind of fluid goes into your oil reservoir for the self leveling suspension?/ im just a rookie and want to make sure that i use all the right stuff..thanks in advance,,

2. Dodici Cilindri

Dodici Cilindri Formula Junior

Feb 21, 2006
    Great Plains
    According to the owners manual front and rear shock abosrbers utilize Agip # OSO35 hydraulic oil. Consult with other lubricant maanufacturers for a possible cross reference.

3. timthetooth

timthetooth Rookie

Dec 18, 2003
    Previous answer is for shock absorbers, only relevent to your front dampers.
    You need ATF Dexron in the self leveler's tank, the same as that used in the power steering.

4. koisokok

koisokok F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Dec 8, 2006
    nine 0 two one 0
    thats the black tank right next to wear you put the oil in?? right??

5. timthetooth

timthetooth Rookie

Dec 18, 2003
    In my car, a 1984 model the power steering and the rear suspension share the same tank near the radiator fillers on the left of the engine bay.
    On earlier models I believe the tank is on the right side of the engine bay, slightly forward of the engine oil filler. The fliud in it should be red.
    The tank in mine has a dip stick attached to the lid, the level should be checked with the engine running, as the fluid level varies, rising slightly when the car is not running.

6. 400iGuy

400iGuy Formula 3
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Aug 26, 2004
    Central Florida
    Full Name:
    Al
    #6 400iGuy, Jan 23, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017