My battery blew up on a tender charger | FerrariChat

My battery blew up on a tender charger

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by swift53, Oct 7, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. swift53

swift53 F1 Veteran
    Rossa Subscribed

Nov 17, 2007
    E.S.
    Full Name:
    Alberto
    Just as the title says. Fortunately no fire, in a carbureted car...

What happened? Anybody have an idea?

Battery was about 7 years old, but so far,
    my other ones just stop taking a charge. No commotion...

Regards, Alberto

Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. Cribbj

Cribbj Formula 3

Alberto, is the battery an Interstate? What's the brand of tender, and was it truly just trickling along, or did it have an adjustable setting and it was charging at a higher amperage?

Normally tenders are current limited to keep what happened from happening....... I'm not a battery expert, but I'm guessing that several internal plates shorted, which allowed the amperage to peak, which then caused overheating/boiling of the electrolyte, and then a runaway situation.

Not the first time this has happened with a tender.......

3. ago car nut

ago car nut F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 29, 2008
    Madison Ohio
    Full Name:
    David A.
    Batteries charging give off hydrogen gas, which is volatile.

4. 308 milano

308 milano F1 Veteran

Jan 15, 2007
    Montana
    Full Name:
    Kim
    Whether it a battery tender or charger, I'd never leave any of them plugged in if I leave the house. Minor inconvenience opposed to burning my house down.
    Main reason I've never owned a battery tender BTW .

5. swift53

swift53 F1 Veteran
    Rossa Subscribed

Nov 17, 2007
    E.S.
    Full Name:
    Alberto
    I store my car with maybe another 75 cars. ALL on battery tenders. Is Armageddon looming?

Regards, Alberto

6. INRange

INRange F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Jan 27, 2014