308 Taillight Wiring | FerrariChat

308 Taillight Wiring

Discussion in '308/328' started by RandyT, Oct 6, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. RandyT

RandyT Formula Junior

Aug 16, 2016
    Calabasas, CA
    Full Name:
    Randy T
    I'm changing my 348 taillights to 308/328 taillights simply because it looks A LOT better.

The 308/328 yellow/white lens is pretty obvious what happens. However, since I don't own a 308/328, I'm not sure what happens in the red lens. Since they (Superformance) didn't send the bulbs with the lens I don't know if both bulbs are duel filament or not. And what's going on with the backwards bulb socket (with the white/blk wire) in the middle of the red 308/328 lens? Engine light?

I am NO expert when it comes to wiring, so if someone here can help me match wires in my wiring diagram, I would really appreciate it.

Randy

Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. thorn

thorn F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 7, 2012
    Tallahassee, FL
    #2 thorn, Oct 6, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2017
    Here's a pic from my 85 QV that may help.

The yellow/red pairs are for 2 bulbs, the black is grounded to the housing. The middle hole in the housing isn't used.

The 2 bulbs are double-filament (I'm using LEDs.) The yellow/red terminal assignment DOES matter; get them backwards and you'll have full-time everything, instead of only parking lights when applicable. I suggest using blade connectors on your pigtails, so it's easy to test and switch the terminals if you get it backwards. (Or if you're soldering, test it first before you commit.)

3. RandyT

RandyT Formula Junior

Aug 16, 2016
    Calabasas, CA
    Full Name:
    Randy T
    Thanks, this helps a lot.

What LED bulbs are you using? Do they work well?

4. thorn

thorn F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 7, 2012
    Tallahassee, FL
    Cool :)