Go Back   FerrariChat.com > Model Specific Discussions > 360/430

Reply
 
Share/Bookmark LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-28-2008, 07:23 AM
Formula Junior
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Full Name: Kenny
Posts: 255
Hardwiring a radar detector on a 360 - help

Hello:

I plan on hardwiring my Escort Passport 8500 radar detector in my Modena. It has a telephone-type cord which was previously wired to the fuse box on my Porsche. Does anyone know how difficult this will be to do on a 360? Any tips/recommendations where I should wire it to? If I choose to go to a mechanic, how much should I expect to pay?

Thanks!

ken
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #2  
Old 03-28-2008, 07:31 AM
Formula Junior
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Full Name: Rocco
Posts: 322
Ken you have a PM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2008, 08:39 AM
Formula 3
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chino hills, CA
Full Name: Robin
Posts: 1,107
Ken,

Depends on your own personal comfort level about wokring on the cars. The radar detector just needs 1 positive, and 1 negative 12 volt feed to make it work.

There is a very nice switched (by ignition key) power source that feeds the clock, just need to splice the two wires from the radar detector into the two wires in there.

First you will need to pop the light off from the left side, a small flat screw driver will do.

Underneath the light there are two torx type of screws you will need to remove in order to remove the entire clock/light module

In the bundle of wire hook the positive from the radar detector to the yellow wire, and ground to the black wire.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC04887.jpg (39.8 KB, 331 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04888.jpg (28.7 KB, 329 views)
File Type: jpg DSC04892.jpg (48.6 KB, 327 views)

Last edited by mrpcar; 03-28-2008 at 08:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:43 PM
vm3 vm3 is offline
Formula Junior
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 728
Having a radar detector visible through the windshield is the same as telling a policeman, "I'm guilty!" Is there a two piece detector with the sensor mounted behind the front grill and the display mounted in a more hidden location?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:24 PM
Karting
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 72
guilty -1

instructions 1+
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2008, 08:39 PM
Karting
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SLO, CA
Full Name: Gary T King
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by vm3 View Post
Having a radar detector visible through the windshield is the same as telling a policeman, "I'm guilty!" Is there a two piece detector with the sensor mounted behind the front grill and the display mounted in a more hidden location?
Have a look at these, the new 9500ci should be very nice:

http://www.escortradar.com/custom-installed.htm

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2008, 08:48 PM
Karting
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta
Full Name: LT
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by vm3 View Post
Having a radar detector visible through the windshield is the same as telling a policeman, "I'm guilty!" Is there a two piece detector with the sensor mounted behind the front grill and the display mounted in a more hidden location?
Driving a bright red Ferrari gives me away

I thought the same as you at first, but in the end I'd rather have the protection. Saved me just the other day. I got hit with a laser... fortunately, it must have been the laser bouncing off the car in front of me, because he was pulled over instead. At that point, I had already hit the brakes and went through the speed trap at a reasonable speed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2008, 01:47 AM
arcticsilver997's Avatar
Karting
Rossa Subscribed
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 202
Nice instructions, does this apply for the F430 as well?
Reply With Quote
Non-Sponsor Ads
  #9  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:10 AM
F1 Rookie
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 4,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpcar View Post
Ken,

Depends on your own personal comfort level about wokring on the cars. The radar detector just needs 1 positive, and 1 negative 12 volt feed to make it work.

There is a very nice switched (by ignition key) power source that feeds the clock, just need to splice the two wires from the radar detector into the two wires in there.

First you will need to pop the light off from the left side, a small flat screw driver will do.

Underneath the light there are two torx type of screws you will need to remove in order to remove the entire clock/light module

In the bundle of wire hook the positive from the radar detector to the yellow wire, and ground to the black wire.
Fantastic instructions. How did you know that the yellow wire is + and the black is - ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2008, 12:02 PM
Karting
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SLO, CA
Full Name: Gary T King
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by DM18 View Post
Fantastic instructions. How did you know that the yellow wire is + and the black is - ?
Use one of these: http://www.powerprobe.com/

If you plan to do any electrical work on your car this is a great tool for finding which wire is hot and when it's hot. Also finds ground and can do a few other things too. Or you can just buy a basic electrical probe to test wires. Basically you pierce the insulation of the wire with the probe to achieve continuity with the copper, just be careful not to slip off the wire and poke your finger cause that hurts, the tip of the probe is sharp.

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-31-2008, 06:23 PM
F1 Rookie
Not Subscribed
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 4,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by G Rides View Post
Use one of these: http://www.powerprobe.com/

If you plan to do any electrical work on your car this is a great tool for finding which wire is hot and when it's hot. Also finds ground and can do a few other things too. Or you can just buy a basic electrical probe to test wires. Basically you pierce the insulation of the wire with the probe to achieve continuity with the copper, just be careful not to slip off the wire and poke your finger cause that hurts, the tip of the probe is sharp.

Gary
Many thanks Gary. I was sticking a pin in the wire and then using my basic tester. Powerprobe looks like the business and I think I "need" one!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:07 PM
Karting
Non Subscribed
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SLO, CA
Full Name: Gary T King
Posts: 83
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by DM18 View Post
Many thanks Gary. I was sticking a pin in the wire and then using my basic tester. Powerprobe looks like the business and I think I "need" one!

Hey you're welcome, I have the Power Probe III and it's a great tool, you'll love it.

Gary
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


FerrariChat.com has no association with Ferrari S.p.A.
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.